Stichting OA Switchboard

The OA Switchboard moved to the operational stage on 1 January 2021, and is now run from the new Stichting OA Switchboard, founded by OASPA in October 2020.

This structural governance and funding model supersedes the organisation and governance of the 2020 project, and the sponsorship model. The new set-up ensures a not-for-profit, collectively controlled collaboration between funders, institutions and publishers, whereby neutrality and independence are preserved by legal structure, governance and articles of incorporation.

The OA Switchboard will be financed via a self-sustaining business model and participation and involvement is open to all who meet the OA Switchboard’s purpose and criteria. The OA Switchboard aims to support all OA business models, policies and types of scholarly output and industry-wide representation and collaboration in developing open source solutions and services is ensured and formalised.

Our principles are here, and the articles of association can be obtained from the Dutch Chamber of Commerce under company number 80620698.

OASPA is supportive and actively involved through a strategic partnership with the Stichting OA Switchboard.

oaspa logo vier_jpg.jpg

The Board

A 'stichting' is a not-for-profit foundation based in the Netherlands. The directors of the Board are responsible for the governance and the management of the foundation. The directors for the Stichting OA Switchboard are:

  • Ivy Anderson, California Digital Library (representing institutions)

  • Rachel Bruce, UKRI (representing funders)

  • Liam Earney, Jisc (representing institutions)

  • Hannah Hope, Wellcome Trust (representing funders)

  • Claire Redhead, OASPA (representing publishers)

  • Ralf Schimmer, Max Planck Digital Library (representing institutions)

  • Wim van der Stelt (representing publishers)

  • Stuart Taylor, The Royal Society (representing publishers)

The Board delegates the day-to-day management of the OA Switchboard to the appointed Executive Director, Yvonne Campfens.

Past Board members:

  • Paul Peters (representing publishers), 2020-2021


In line with the principles, the following bodies have been created in 2021:

Read more about getting involved in the Advisory Group and the Working Groups here.

Our 'Generic Code' applies to each and every organisational body, meeting and initiative:

  • Observe and comply with existing competition/antitrust briefing and guidance.

  • Diversity – Equity – Inclusion.

  • No communication (e.g. on social media) of stakeholder names (e.g. meeting participants) or related meeting details unless explicitly agreed in writing. Nobody will make any public statements about the OA Switchboard or Stichting OA Switchboard, or use or make reference to OA Switchboard’s or Stichting OA Switchboard’s name or logo without the prior written consent of Stichting OA Switchboard.

  • No solicitation.

  • No external representation (unless explicitly agreed in writing).

In general, participation and involvement in all organisational bodies are open to all who meet the respective purpose and criteria. For some bodies, explicit appointment by the Board is required. In case of other/existing members object to a new person/party joining an organisational body, they can indicate this to the Executive Director, stating the Code or criterium that is failed. If the problem is incidental, the Executive Director can request the person/party to leave the meeting for certain agenda items/discussions. If the problem is structural, the Board will decide.

Client Advisory Board

A new body with representatives of the organisations who have a signed Service Agreement, have/get an account as of 1 January 2021, and are actively participating in the ‘launch phase’. They will meet once every two months and will discuss both strategic, as well as (shared) implementation topics.

Note: If a Client/Participant works with a sub-contractor (or 'delegate' or 'certified integrator') this party can't represent or join the Client/Participant in the CAB meetings.

2022 Advisory Group

The Advisory Group consists of individuals and representatives of stakeholder groups (primary and other) who will contribute by expertise to ensure community representation, involvement and input in product/service development. The members will be appointed for a year (with the option to extend for other year(s)), and the group will meet every two months on average.

Participation and involvement are open to all who meet our purpose and criteria. The members of the 2021 project Advisory Board were invited to join also for 2022, and an invitation to others was posted on the ‘Get Involved’ section on the website and was promoted via the mailing list and social media.

  • Shelley Allen, Head of Open Research, Emerald Publishing

  • Kaveh Bazargan, Director, River Valley Technologies

  • Josh Brown, Co-founder, research and strategy, MoreBrains Cooperative Ltd

  • Jamie Carmichael, Senior Director, Information and Content Solutions, CCC

  • Todd A. Carpenter, Executive Director, NISO

  • Diane Cogan, Vice President, Global Sales, Ringgold

  • Fiona Counsell, Head of Open Access Operations & Policy, Taylor & Francis

  • Matthew Day, Head of Open Research Policy & Partnerships, Cambridge University Press

  • Frederik Eichler, Co-Founder at SciFlow

  • Jennifer Fleet, Managing Director, Aries Systems Corporation

  • Claudia Heidrich, Sales Manager EMEAI, Royal Society of Chemistry

  • Mark Hester, Publishing Professional

  • Jade Heyman, Journal Sales and Transformation Manager, Microbiology Society

  • Martin Jagerhorn, Business Development Advisor, ChronosHub

  • Alex Kohls, Head Scientific Information Service, CERN

  • Leah Kristensen, Customer Success Manager, Manuscript Manager

  • Christina Lembrecht, Senior Manager Open Research Strategy, De Gruyter

  • Kait Neese, E-Resources and Open Access Outreach Manager, LYRASIS

  • Bill O'Brien, Senior Director Business Development, Aptara

  • Markus Putnings, University Library, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU), Germany

  • Louise, Russell, Director, Tutton Russell Consulting Ltd

  • Anne Simoneau, Director of Business Development, EDP Sciences

  • Adrian T. Stanley, Chief Innovation and Development Officer, JMIR Publications

  • Michael Wachinger, Senior Director International Business, Thieme Group

Working Groups

For specific topics or initiatives, Task and Working Groups will be operated. These may have a purpose and lifetime that is time-specific, or may be continuously operational (until further notice). The general purpose is to gather ideas, prepare for further continuous improvement cycles of the OA Switchboard and to ensure we tie-in to existing initiatives and groups.

General Terms & Conditions

General Terms & Conditions

The OA Switchboard Terms & Conditions are an integral part of the Service Agreement signed by participants, and the Test Terms of Use signed for trials. They can be found here.